Skip to content

Covid-19 Travel update – 14th July 2020

Please see below the most recent updates regarding business travel around the world.

From 3rd August, KLM will resume operations between Belfast City Airport and Amsterdam Schiphol Airport using an Embraer 175 aircraft, carrying 88 passengers, with flights on sale now. With the relaunch, passengers will be able to connect to over 100 intercontinental destinations from 3rd August.

Qantas has officially removed international flight bookings from London to Australia – except New Zealand – from their website until 28th March 2021. HOWEVER, airlines such as Emirates, Qatar Airways, British Airways and Cathay Pacific are offering a service.

Jet2 has cancelled all flights for the coming weeks from Scotland to Spain following the Scottish Government’s announcement about quarantine rules for overseas travellers. The airline has cancelled all flights from Glasgow Airport and Edinburgh Airport to Mainland Spain, the Balearic Islands and the Canary Islands until 25th July, with flights to Cyprus, Portugal and Madeira from UK airports also cancelled until 1st August.

Quarantine rules

Passengers entering the UK from dozens of countries no longer have to quarantine. However, not all of them have ended restrictions for UK travellers when they arrive there, and the recommendation is to check with BBTM for the most up to date information.

Arrivals from the following destinations are exempt from quarantine if they arrive in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.  

Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Croatia, Curaçao, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Faroe Islands, Fiji, Finland, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Malta, Mauritius, Monaco, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Réunion, San Marino, Seychelles, South Korea, Spain, St Barthélemy, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Pierre and Miquelon, Switzerland, Taiwan, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Vatican City, Vietnam.

The 14 British Overseas Territories are also exempt.

The Government has been advising against all but essential travel since March, however this advice has been lifted for destinations that ”no longer pose an unacceptably high risk” for British travellers.

Scotland is also allowing exemptions, although unlike the other nations it does not exempt travellers from Spain, because of concerns about their rate of coronavirus infections.

You will still have to isolate for 14 days if you arrive back in the UK from Sweden, Portugal, Russia, Canada, the US, much of Central & South America, Africa, The Middle East and the majority of Asia, plus any other country not on the list.

The list is always under review so please contact us for any updates.

Airline Alliances

The top 3 airline alliances – Oneworld, Skyteam and Star Alliance have, for the first time, come together to highlight the measures airlines are adopting to assure the well-being of customers while travelling. The rather short one minute animated film has been designed to reassure travellers that flying is safe. It has been produced to provide a look at what customers can expect on their journeys over the coming months as travel restrictions are slowly eased. View the video here

Heathrow passenger information

New safety measures and procedures can be found in the following link for travelling from and into London Heathrow, it explains some of the arrangements that have been made to ensure passenger safety whether arriving by air, departing or taking a connecting flight.

If you are coming from abroad, the following link explains the procedure and contains the form which must be completed within a 48hr bubble before you arrive in the UK.

Please be reminded that facemasks are a requirement at the airport and temperature screening trials continue.